Friday, October 28, 2011

The Betsy-Tacy Series by Maud Hart Lovelace

From goodreads: There are lots of children on Hill Street, but no little girls Betsy's age. So when a new family moves into the house across the street, Betsy hopes they will have a little girl she can play with. Sure enough, they do--a little girl named Tacy. And from the moment they meet at Betsy's fifth birthday party, Betsy and Tacy becoms such good friends that everyone starts to think of them as one person--Betsy-Tacy.

Betsy and Tacy have lots of fun together. They make a playhouse from a piano box, have a sand store, and dress up and go calling. And one day, they come home to a wonderful surprise--a new friend named Tib.

Ever since their first publication in the 1940's, the Betsy-Tacy stories have been loved by each generation of young readers. 

I LOVE the innocence of these books. My mom introduced them to me when I was young, and I have read them to my own daughters. A coming of age series that begins when Betsy is five and ends in her early twenties. The books center around the friendship of Betsy and Tacy, and later include a larger group of family and friends. The girls age in each book, and the reading level becomes more difficult as the series progresses. The books describe the adventures of Betsy Ray, beginning with Betsy-Tacy and ending with Betsy's Wedding. I love the setting: a small town in Minnesota during the early 20th century, and that the books are based on Lovelace's experiences and friends. The books were so fun to read, and interesting to learn about the way of life a hundred years ago.

Rating: 5
Age: All ages!
Published: Between 1940-1950

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...